Friday, October 31, 2014

Title: The Scars That Define Us
Series: The Devil's Dust #2
Author: M.N. Forgy
Rating: 

The Devil's Dust MC has a list of new threats to the club's lifestyle. Dani, to prove her loyalty, is trying to embrace a part of herself that she never knew existed until now. A sinful beast lurking beneath her surface has been awakened and is ready to eliminate anyone that stands in its way. Looking at her stained hands, she rinses the blood from them. She resigns herself to innocence lost and welcomes her thirst for more blood.

After a breathtaking turn of events, Shadow is looking at life in a different perspective. Not knowing who he can trust or who he can forgive has left him feeling desolate and alone. As Shadow is laying behind his rifle, he wonders if he can pull the trigger to eliminate the threat. He takes a deep breath and squeezes the trigger, the rifle recoil ignites the fuel that drives him.

Retaliations will be required.

Boundaries will be shattered.

Redemption will be lost.

Betrayal so deep, yet they still yearn for one another. Can Shadow overlook Dani’s transgressions? Can Dani overlook the mistrust that Shadow has placed upon her?

The Scars That Define us begin a few days after the first book ended. Dani isn't sure if the club will kill her or not, and when she sees Shadow she honestly thought that the love between them would have him waiting on her.. But that wasn't what happened at all. Now, she's out to prove to the club that she can be trusted, and just survive with or without Shadow. 

And Shadow is facing some demons on his own. He knows he loves Dani, but he's unsure if he can trust her due to his past. He ends up making a lot of mistakes and he doesn't know what he should do fix it now. 

This book was good, but I felt like the first one was better. I really hated the things that Dani and Shadow put the other through, it was annoying and frustrating. 

Other than that it was a very interesting read with a lot of emotions coming from it. There was even a great deal of sadness to it as well. I do recommend this series, and I hope to read more about how everything will turn out. 
Read More
by Whitney Martin 2:30 AM No comments

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Welcome to the book blitz for 
Going Down in Flames
by Chris Cannon!


Title: Going Down in Flames
Author: Chris Cannon
Rating: 

If her love life is going down in flames, she might as well spark a revolution.


Finding out on your sixteenth birthday you’re a shape-shifting dragon is tough to swallow. Being hauled off to an elite boarding school is enough to choke on.



Since Bryn is the only crossbreed at the Institute for Excellence, all eyes are on her, but it’s a particular black dragon, Zavien, who catches her attention.



Zavien is tired of the Council’s rules. Segregated clans, being told who to love, and close-minded leaders make freedom of choice almost impossible. The new girl with the striped hair is a breath of fresh air, and with Bryn’s help, they may be able to change the rules.



At the Institute, old grudges, new crushes, and death threats are all part of a normal day for Bryn. She’ll need to learn to control her dragon powers if she wants to make it through her first year at school. But even focusing on staying alive is difficult when you’re falling for someone you can't have.



The book begins when Bryn finds out she's not exactly human, she's a dragon, who will be sent away to school to learn how to control her powers. But it gets worse they have lots of rules and laws, that her parents broke now she's considered an abomination and is fighting to fit in and be accepted. But things take a turn for the worse when her life gets put on the line because someone is coming after her. 

This book was good! I really enjoyed the plot line, and all of the characters. The only thing that bothered me was the end. It didn't really feel like Bryn started anything or anything was really accomplished. I felt like a little more should have been done. But this was a great start to a series, and I look forward to reading more. The main heroine was brave, and very smart. She wasn't afriad to stand up for what she believed was right, and I admired that about her. The main hero on the other had I wasn't so sure about. It seemed he was trying to rebel without actually rebelling and it got a little bit frustrating. 

Other then those things I enjoyed the book, and I hope to read more! This was a very interesting paranormal book. And I just love Dragons! 


Chris Cannon lives in Southern Illinois with her husband and her three dogs, Pete the shitzu who sleeps on her desk while she writes, Molly the ever-shedding yellow lab, and Tyson the sandwich-stealing German Shepherd Beagle. She believes coffee is the Elixir of Life. Most evenings after work, you can find her sucking down caffeine and writing fire-breathing paranormal adventures. Going Down In Flames is the first book in Chris Cannon's shape-shifting dragon series.

Twitter: @ccannonauthor
https://www.facebook.com/chriscannonauthor
www.facebook.com/chris.cannonwrites
http://www.chriscannonauthor.com/
http://www.goodreads.com/chriscannon
https://www.pinterest.com/ccannonauthor
Read More
by Whitney Martin 3:30 AM 5 comments

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Welcome to the book blitz for
More Than Exes
by Elizabeth Briggs! 


More Than Exes by Elizabeth Briggs 
(Chasing the Dream 0.5) 
Publication date: October 28th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult

Keyboardist Kyle Cross may look like a bad boy with his tattoos and piercings, but he’s really the good guy who’s always stuck fixing his band’s problems and never gets the girl. His band is competing in a college Battle of the Bands, but when their bassist doesn’t show, Kyle must track her down with the help of the person he least expects: his ex-girlfriend Alexis Monroe.
Kyle hasn’t seen Alexis since she dumped him in high school, and she’s dropped her preppy image for fiery red hair and a bold new attitude to match. With only hours before his band goes on stage, Kyle has to be a little bad if he wants to win both the Battle and the girl he’s never gotten over. But when their old problems resurface, the good guy might just get his heart broken all over again.

Purchase:



Elizabeth Briggs is a full-time geek who writes books for teens and adults. She plays the guitar, mentors at-risk teens, and volunteers with a dog rescue group. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and a pack of small, fluffy dogs.


Visit Elizabeth online at: 


$20 Amazon Gift Card!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read More
by Whitney Martin 3:00 AM 2 comments

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Welcome to the Release Blitz for
Anguish
by Bella Jewel! 


Title: Anguish
Series: Jokers' Wrath #3
Author: Bella Jewel
Rating: 

There are a lot of things in this world that are easy to escape from. Having a son you didn't ask for isn't one of them. 

Mack is a nomad. He likes his own space and he struggles with emotion. His past is grey and his future looks about the same. That is until his ex-girlfriend dies and his son is handed over to him. A two month old baby he didn't know existed. Until now. 

His world comes crashing down around him. 

Desperate, he hires a nanny. 

Jaylah has gotten herself into some serious trouble, so when she sees the job opening for a nanny pop up, she jumps on it. Of course she's not a nanny, but she figures she can pull it off. I mean, how hard can it be? 

She's thrown into a world of diapers, hourly feedings and a whole lot of laundry. She's also introduced to the most rugged, gorgeous man she's ever had the pleasure of meeting. 

The best part, he's the baby's father. 

The worst part, he's a biker. 

Their sexual tension is huge, but he's a hard nut to crack. She'll get in, though. She makes it her mission to break through the wall Mack has built so high around himself. 

Her world is about to spiral out of control, and she's taking Mack along for the ride.




Anguish begins when Mack hires a nanny for the two month old little boy who was just left with him. Mack has no idea how to deal with the anguish he's feeling or what to do about his son, so he decides to hire someone else to take care of him. And that someone ends up being a woman who is in need of help on her own. 

Jaylah is dire need of money. So, she does the only thing she can think of doing, she accepts the job working for a biker as his nanny. The thing is this biker is moody and very difficult to get along with, but there's also a simmering attraction between Jaylah and Mack that each of them are having a hard time denying. But when things get tense around the club, and people from Jaylah and Mack's past start to come back to haunt them things get a little crazy. Not to mention you add in a beautiful little boy who steals your heart as soon as you look at him, you've got a crazy biker world of trouble coming at you.

Anguish is the best (so far) of Joker's Wrath series. I might even go ahead and say it is my favorite Bella Jewel book, but that could change, so for not it is my favorite book of hers! 
It had lots of laughs, lots of romance, danger, drama, and crazy intense sad moments as well. I loved it! This book really brought out a different side to the bikers, and I enjoyed it very much! 

Jaylah was an amazing heroine. She was sweet, funny, sassy, and wasn't afraid to fight for what she wanted even if she looked a fool doing it! I loved how she took care of the baby as well, and how she fought hard for all of those she cared about. She is now one of my favorite heroines of all time! 

Then there is Mack. Mack Mack Mack... I just wasn't sure what to feel about it. I felt his pain in the book very deeply, but I also felt like he messed up a whole lot in this book. But, even though he messed up a lot, he did his best to make up for it especially to Jaylay!
There were however two things he did that made me very very angry at him, and the second one Maddox had a part in as well, and I felt neither of them really made up for that. But it all worked out great in the end! I'm really looking forward to the next book in this series! 

Bella Jewel is an Aussie girl through and through. She spent her life in Western Australia, growing up in many different areas of the state. She now currently lives in 
Perth with her husband, children and mass amounts of pets. She's crazy, fun, outgoing 
and friendly. Writing is her passion, she started at the young age of 18 but finally got the 
courage up to publish, and her first novel Hell's Knights was released in August 2013.

Author Social Media Links
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Bella-Jewel/513907282000951
Website: http://authorbellajewel.wix.com/bella-jewel
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7178194.Bella_Jewel
Read More
by Whitney Martin 2:30 AM No comments
Title: Forgiveness and Permission
Series: The Ghost Bird #4
Author: C.L. Stone
Rating: 

Sang Sorenson’s abusive mother is secure in a hospital, and her father has vanished to a new family of his own, leaving Sang and her sister to fend for themselves. Sang is hanging by a thread, and her only hope is a group of boys she feels she barely knows.

She’s never really alone. The Academy team has stepped in, promising to protect and care for Sang. Kota, Victor, Silas, Nathan, Gabriel, Luke and North take over, showing Sang they can be depended on for anything. But just because the parents are away, doesn’t mean Sang’s life has become any easier.

The newfound freedom will have a higher price than any of them had imagined.

Principal Hendricks now wants to use Sang to exploit Academy secrets. Mr. McCoy has his own dark plans for her. Enemies are closing in. Sang will need to learn to believe in the boys, and the boys will need to learn to trust her if they want to survive their rivals.

And each other.

The Academy, Relentless Trust

The fourth book in the Ghost Bird series begins when Sang is no longer having to deal with her "mother." Secrets have gotten about about her family, yet she's still in the dark, and still trying to figure out her place with her new friends, and what it means to be a family. Not only that but the vice principle at school has made his interest known in her, and she isn't safe anymore. 

Unsure of what to do, and how to react. She does what she can by staying around all of the guys. But every time she's with them she feels things she's not sure she's suppose to feel, and it just gets more confusing for her. And the guys are also trying hard to figure things out as well. 

This one was good! It was a lot better then the last one, and the ending just blew me away. I can not believe what happened, and I kind of hope what will happen is really going to happen now! Sang is great with this team of NINE DIFFERENT GUYS! And even though it seems strange and unusual to me, it still makes sense for them to be a "family." 

Now I'm super excited to read more in this series. It just gets better and better with each book! 
Read More
by Whitney Martin 1:30 AM No comments
Title: Bound
Series: The Guardians #1
Author: M.J. Stevens
Rating: 

‘No good deed ever goes unpunished, Mellea…’

Mellea Wendorn hasn’t exactly had a normal life. Misfortune seems to follow her, and her family, wherever she goes. 
However, when Mellea stops to assist a mysterious young man suddenly her prior hardships seem trivial.

His name is Leo. He is a Successor, a child of the Guardians of Selestia. 

He is royalty. 
He is handsome. 
And he wants Mellea completely to himself. 

Unable to escape the Guardian's laws, Mellea must learn the ways of the royals. She is convinced her life can’t get much worse. But when a timeworn Guardian enemy arises from the shadows, Mellea must make a choice that will change her destiny forever.

Bound begins when Mellea sees something strange happen to a man around her age. She doesn't know what to do so she goes to help him, and then finds her self in a world of trouble. She has one of the "Guardians" saying she is now going to be Bound to him. Mellea has only ever heard bad things from her father about the Guardians and she's unsure on how to continue things. And the way they have behaved so far shes doesn't know if she should stay or not.

This book was interesting. I liked it, but it wasn't great. I enjoyed the relationship between Mellea and Lee. I loved how it was just developing, and could change soon. I also loved how easy Mellea adapted to things, at least for the most part. And she wasn't afraid to stand her ground. 

I did get a little bit annoying with things at first. It was slow to get into, but once it picked up it became interesting. I do look forward to reading more in this series. 
Read More
by Whitney Martin 1:30 AM 2 comments

Monday, October 27, 2014

Welcome to the book blitz for
The Invitation: Release
by Roxy Sloane


The Invitation: Release by Roxy Sloane 
(The Invitation #3) 
Publication date: October 27th 2014 
Genres: Adult, Erotica, Romance


The invitation unlocked a world of pleasure — but the game is only just beginning…

He promised me an adventure. I had no idea what lay in store. Now, I know his name, and everything has changed.
I want to trust him, but his secrets could ruin us both. I need to know what he’s hiding – before it’s too late.
I’ve already risked everything for his love. Now, I’m playing to win.
Are you ready?
*The explosive conclusion to the seductive new series*



Purchase:

Excerpt:
Suddenly, his hand is on my arm, pulling me back around. “Don’t go.”

I look up. My breath catches. He’s looking at me intensely. Desire and desperation

in his eyes.

How dare he?

He steps forward, slowly pushing me back against the wall. I should shove back,

walk out of here and leave him behind forever, but for some reason, I can’t move.

His heat rolls through me. His scent hits like a drug. And most of all, the sheer

overwhelming presence of him keeps me pinned in place. Strong. Determined.

Hungry.

My eyes flutter shut and I breathe him in.

I hate him.

“Please...” I whisper, and even I don’t know what I’m asking. For him to let me go,

or turn me around and fuck me right here up against the wall, like the very first time.

He dips his head closer, until I can feel his breath, hot on my cheek.

“I’m sorry,” he whispers, his voice rasping. “I’ll let you go. But this isn’t over. Not by

a long shot.”



Roxy Sloane is a romance junkie with a dirty mind. She lives in Los Angeles with her hot ex-military hubby and her two kids. She loves writing sexy, complex stories about pushing the boundaries and risking it all.

Author links:


$10 Amazon Gift Card
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read More
by Whitney Martin 3:00 AM 2 comments

Bookmark Us

Delicious Digg Facebook Favorites More Stumbleupon Twitter

Search Our Site

Blog Archive

Proud Tour Host!

Favorite Books Montage

Beautiful Disaster
Bloodlines
Breathe
Crow's Row
The Edge of Never
Fairytale Come Alive
Fallen Crest High
From Rags
The Gamble
Games of the Heart
Glass Houses
Halfway to the Grave
In Bed with a Highlander
Motorcycle Man
The Next Door Boys
Play It Safe
Raid
Reason to Breathe
Rock Chick Regret
Saving Grace


Whit's favorite books »

♥Blog Awards♥

2014 Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Whitney has read 147 books toward her goal of 575 books.
hide