Monday, October 20, 2014

Title: Curran POV Collection
Author: Gordan Andrews
Rating: 

This one is basically all of short stories in Curran's POV. 

It's not exactly a story, it's just bits and pieces of the Kate Daniels series in Curran's POV. I enjoyed it, but I still wish that it was an actually separate story. It would have made it a lot more interesting. But I enjoyed getting to see all of these scenes in his pov as well as Kate's in the original series. Over all I liked it! I really loved Curran in the series, and it was great to get an insight into his thoughts in these parts of the story! I thank the authors for this awesome idea. 
\
Read More
by Whitney Martin 1:17 PM No comments
Title: Curran Vol. 2: Fathers and Sons
Author: Gordan & Ilona Andrews
Rating: 

The second volume of Curran POV takes place after the events of MAGIC BLEEDS. 

Infuriated by Kate’s treatment at the hands of the Pack, the Beast Lord demands an explanation. When words fail, claws and fangs must do the talking.

This short story was about how Curran feels when he wakes up and realizes that Kate has been challenge several times by his pack. We even get to see him and his oldest friend fight because of it. 

I really enjoy getting to see Curran's thoughts and actions in a different way. It's really excited. I do however wish this could have been more of an actually story then just that scene from his point of view, but it was still okay and interesting to read. 
Read More
by Whitney Martin 1:08 PM No comments

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Welcome to the Sunday Post! 

 A weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer
 It lets everyone know what happened during our week.. 

 So check it out.


Blog Stuff:
This week went by pretty quickly. I was able to get a Buddy Read done! :) Pre-order the new Kristen Ashley book. 
And get a few ARC's done and more on the way to being finished. I've also decided to read Manga. And for those of you who do not know what it is, it is basically Japanese comics, but in a book form. I plan to read some of those and post reviews soon! 

That's all from me this week. Have a great week everyone! 

-Last Week-
Memes:

Blog Tours+Giveaways:
New Books+Reviews:

ARC:
Read More
by Whitney Martin 2:30 AM 10 comments

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Welcome to the book blitz for
The Secret Diamond Sisters
by Michelle Madow! 


The Secret Diamond Sisters (The Secret Diamond Sisters #1)
by Michelle Madow
Release Date: 02/25/13
Harlequin Teen

Savannah. Courtney. Peyton.

The three sisters grew up not knowing their father and not quite catching a break. But it looks like their luck is about to change when they find out the secret identity of their long-lost dad— a billionaire Las Vegas hotel owner who wants them to come live in a gorgeous penthouse hotel suite.

Suddenly the Strip's most exclusive clubs are all-access, and with an unlimited credit card each, it should be easier than ever to fit right in. But in a town full of secrets and illusion, fitting in is nothing compared to finding out the truth about their past.

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million | Book Depository | iBookstore

Links to Diamonds in the Rough (Available for Pre-Order)
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books A Million| Book Depository | iBookstore

"Sexy and often electrifying ... Gossip Girl meets The Princess Diaries in a city that never sleeps." --Booklist

"This quick and entertaining read is filled with glitz and glamour ... get ready for one crazy and fabulous ride." --RT Book Reviews


Excerpt:
Courtney is sixteen years old, and is the middle Diamond sister. She’s the responsible one—she studies hard, does well in school, is a student tutor, and works after school and on weekends to help out her family. Her main goal is to keep up her grades and do well on her SATs so she can get into Stanford, her dream school. She wants to major in English and someday get a career in publishing. She’s competitive with herself and always strives to do her best.

Courtney’s closest friends are her sisters—with all the time she spends on school and work, she doesn’t have time for anyone else. She’s never had a boyfriend and is fine with waiting to date until college. (She doesn’t need any distractions right now!) She’s not into the high school party scene, and whenever she has time in her busy schedule, her favorite thing to do is read novels. She also loves listening to Broadway music (Phantom of the Opera and Wicked are her favorites) and would love to see a live show someday.

She’s a natural early bird, and is always awake before her sisters. She could happily wear jeans, t-shirts, and flip-flops every day, and always goes natural with her makeup. Her favorite drink is chai tea. She’s quiet and reserved while first meeting someone, but she will do anything for the people she loves. She would love to travel the world to see historic sites and well-known museums, but it’s always felt more like a dream than a possible reality.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

At seventeen years old, Peyton is the oldest Diamond sister. She’s been hurt in the past, but because of it, has developed a thick skin. She will do anything for her sisters, going as far as protecting them from their mom’s outbursts and getting home first from school to make sure everything in the house (including their mom) is ready for them. She’s tough, doesn’t trust easily, and while she has many people she hangs out with, the only people who she feels truly know her are her sisters. She doesn’t like school (she gets restless sitting in classrooms!) and can’t wait until graduation so she’ll be done forever.

Peyton’s a natural night owl, and waking up in the morning is a constant struggle. (Her sisters usually resort to throwing things at her to wake her up, and often yell at her to hurry up showering so they can have time for their morning routines, too.) She needs at least three cups of coffee to get going.

She loves rock music, and can usually be found with an earbud attached to her ear, even during her classes. She loves partying and dancing and getting lost in the music. She also enjoys an occasional chill night of movies and television shows, as long as it’s not a rom-com chick flick.

She wears mostly black clothing—why bother with colors when black always looks hot on her? Her nails are usually painted black as well. She’s not afraid to speak up for what she believes in and she will always stand up for her sisters. She tries to not let anyone in to avoid getting hurt—but really she just wants to find that one person who cares enough to break down her walls.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

At fifteen years old, Savannah is the youngest Diamond sister. Her older sisters have sheltered her for her entire life. Despite her rough upbringing, she’s optimistic and wants to think the best of people, although this can sometimes lead to her coming off as na├»ve. She wants to fit in at school, but has always felt like an outsider. She tends to feel overshadowed by the people around her. She trusts easily, and it sometimes leads to her getting hurt, but she’s always there for her sisters and friends when they need her!

Savannah loves singing, and has a fantastic voice, so it’s her ultimate dream to be a famous pop star. She’s been stage fright since a talent show disaster in middle school, but wants to record cover songs and post them on YouTube to try to get a following, like the YouTube stars she idolizes. She also plays guitar, but is self-taught, so she’s still learning how to improve. She mainly plays to accompany herself while singing. She’s athletic, and played on the JV volleyball team in her school in her hometown. She hopes to make Varsity as a sophomore.

She loves shopping and wearing anything that sparkles—dresses, nail polish, shoes, eye shadow, you name it! She loves reading fashion magazines and trying to duplicate the high-end styles worn by the models. Her favorite meal of the day is breakfast, and her favorite food is pancakes. Savannah has never had a serious boyfriend, and wants more than anything to believe that true love is possible!



Michelle Madow was inspired to write The Secret Diamond Sisters series while walking through her favorite hotel in Las Vegas. The next book in the series, Diamonds in the Rough, launchesin October. Prior to The Secret Diamond Sisters, she successfully self-published The Transcend Time Saga. A tireless promoter of her work, Michelle is active on social media networks and has toured across America to promote her books and encourage high school students to embrace reading and writing. A graduate of Rollins College, Michelle lives in Florida ... but she loves going to Vegas.

To chat with Michelle and other fans about her books, join Michelle Madow's Street Team on Facebook!

Author Links:
WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More
by Whitney Martin 3:00 AM No comments

Friday, October 17, 2014

Welcome to the book blitz for
Losing Track 
by Trisha Wolfe! 


Losing Track 
(Living Heartwood #2)
by Trisha Wolfe
Release Date: 10/15/14

Sometimes you have to lose your way before finding the right track.
The roar of a bike engine. The vibration between her thighs. The feel of cool darkness kissing her skin as she coasts along twisty back roads at night—Melody Lachlan lives for these things. 

Ever since Mel and her best friend Darla escaped their small, backwoods town, they’ve traveled the countryside in search of fast rides, tatted bikers, and good times.

A self-proclaimed poet and lover of all things free, Mel views her life as one long bike ride—with pit stops along the way to numb the pain. But she never saw herself as a junkie. Party as hard a you ride. That’s her motto...until a tragic night steals her soul. Then she’s forced to delve below the surface, to where her demons rage.

When she meets recovered drug addict Boone Randall, she’s more likely to deck him than kiss his dimple-adorable face. She doesn’t want his help; doesn’t want to own up to her part in that night. She just wants to do her time and keep her promise to her friend. Yet Boone challenges Mel, and soon she doesn’t mind sharing the road. Only when Boone’s own secret demons 
threaten their newfound, fragile security, Mel’s course becomes rocky, and she must decide if letting her well-worn track marks fade is worth finding a new path. 

Told from Dual point of view from Melody and Boone, this is a New Adult Contemporary Romance intended for readers seventeen years of age and older.



 Links to The Darkest Part: Also on sale for $.99!

Excerpt:
She sniffs hard and clears her voice. But doesn’t say anything.

I do. “What’s wrong?”

There. Two simple words. Could be any two people meeting in a hallway, asking the 
same thing, and it’d mean absolutely nothing. But for us, those words break through every 
barrier we’ve assembled. 

Her choice: answer something noncommittal, like “nothing,” and give me the brush off. 

Securing our casual friendship remains the same. Or, answer honestly...changing everything. 

I’m not sure which I’m rooting for. Just as I wasn’t sure yesterday if I wanted her to 
accept my rejection—or push past all my barriers and tell me to fuck off, she was taking control. 
I lied when I told myself I was relieved; I wanted this girl to scare the shit out of me, to make m react. 

Her throaty voice cuts through the suffocating fear creeping over me. “I got a letter. From 
a friend. He’s just been released from jail.”

I notice the folded paper in her hand. Her fingertips pinching the paper, holding it away 
from herself. “That’s good news.” It’s not a statement; it’s a question. 

She nods. “Yeah.”

Silence thickens between us. 

“Walk?” I offer, hoping I can get her out of whatever funk this friend has caused.

Nodding again, she picks herself off the floor and folds the letter to make it smaller. She 
stuffs it into the back pocket of her jean skirt before saying, “So how did you fair with the blue 
balls yesterday? You seem to be walking all right.”


A chuckle slips out. I know she’s avoiding. Doesn’t want to talk about the letter or her 
friend, so I can roll with her punches. “Worst case I ever had.” And that’s no lie. I thought long 
and hard about jerking my dick to kingdom come, but I settled for blue balls. An extra little dose of punishment for almost fucking up.

“And that’s the best compliment I’ve ever had. Thanks, Boone.” She nudges me with her 
shoulder as I shake my head.

As soon as we step outside, I drop my shades over my eyes and instantly regret my idea. 

For the seconds I was entranced with Mel’s pain, with her, I forgot about the sky-high heat 
index. “Shit. If there was ever a month to get the fuck out of Florida,” I say.

“No shit,” she agrees. Turning to face me, she adds, “You do have a bike. Well, sort of. 

Not sure I classify your Bonnie bobber as one, really...” she trails off, and I let the slight against 
my bike slide. I figured her for an all American girl. “But we could Bonnie and Clyde our way to 
Sturgis. Pun totally intended.” She winks. “There’s always, like, a crazy aftermath of drag races 
and parties following the rally.”

I want to think she’s joking. But I have a sure feeling in the pit of my stomach that if I 
offered her to leave right now, she’d hop on the back of my bike. No questions. And suddenly, 
there’s a sickness gripping my gut to match that feeling—I want that.

At some point, whether it was the moment she touched me, the heated look in her eyes, 
or the second I saw the hopelessness forming around her in the hall...a line was crossed. There’s no walking away now. 

This girl will break me.

And I’ll beg her to do it.

We reach the benches near the basketball court and she slides onto the top seatback. I lick 
my lips, thankful for my shades as my gaze travels up her creamy legs to her thighs. I imagine 
running my hand up that same course. Under her skirt...

Fucking hell. At some point, I’m going to have to wear my dick out. I should beat the 
hell out of it each time before I see her. I’m like a horny teen getting a taste of porn for the first time. It’s embarrassing.

I’ve gone almost a year with no real temptations. Where the hell did this girl come from? 

She blindsided me.


I’m the author of the YA Steampunk DESTINY'S FIRE (Omnific Publishing), ASTARTE'S WRATH NA Historical/Supernatural, and the upcoming YA Utopian FIREBLOOD from Spencer Hill Press, October 2013. My NA Dark Fantasy OF SILVER AND BEASTS available May 2013.

I’m the creator of YA Bound, a promotional site for the Young Adult genre. Also a member of SCWW and The Apocalypsies.

A proud business owner, I'm partnered with my partner, my husband. When I’m not busy doing all of the above, I’m a wife and the mother of a gorgeous teen boy who's the sounding board for my male characters.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read More
by Whitney Martin 3:00 AM No comments

Bookmark Us

Delicious Digg Facebook Favorites More Stumbleupon Twitter

Search Our Site

Blog Archive

Proud Tour Host!

Favorite Books Montage

Beautiful Disaster
Bloodlines
Breathe
Crow's Row
The Edge of Never
Fairytale Come Alive
Fallen Crest High
From Rags
The Gamble
Games of the Heart
Glass Houses
Halfway to the Grave
In Bed with a Highlander
Motorcycle Man
The Next Door Boys
Play It Safe
Raid
Reason to Breathe
Rock Chick Regret
Saving Grace


Whit's favorite books »

Blog Awards

Blog Awards

2014 Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Whitney has read 147 books toward her goal of 575 books.
hide