Monday, January 22, 2018


Title: Ryan's Bed
Author: Tijan
Rating: 

I crawled into Ryan Jensen’s bed that first night by accident.

I barely knew him. I thought it was his sister’s bed—her room. It took seconds to realize my error, and I should've left...

I didn’t.
I didn’t jump out.
I didn’t get embarrassed.
I relaxed.
And that night, in that moment, it was the only thing I craved.

I asked to stay. He let me, and I slept.

The truth? I never wanted to leave his bed. If I could've stayed forever, I would have.
He became my sanctuary.

Because—four hours earlier—my twin sister killed herself.

    

This book will chew you up and spit you out. You will bleed along with the characters as the story continues. This begins when Mac finds her twin sister dead. From that day on it changes her, and her family seems to break apart. The only person who Mac is depending on is a complete stranger that she can't seem to stay away from. 

Not only was this story a romance, it was also really heavily about Mac suffering through her grief, but also suicide as well.  I've read some very powerful and emotional books before, but this one really hit home for me in a lot of ways, and I felt like it pushed emotions over the edge. The end does leave me slightly frustrated, but I think that's what the author wanted. She wanted the ending to be open like that so the reader would have a chance to think about it, but I'm not really sure she expected the reader to be gutted along with Mac. 

This book was amazing, so far the best of the year, and I can't wait to read more of Tijan's work. 
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 4:30 AM No comments

Sunday, January 21, 2018



Cross Stroke 
Elizabeth Hartey
Publication date: January 16th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Tracey…
One night left my heart shattered and my reputation ruined, and now my only hope is to transfer to another university far from home. Although I’m a champion figure skater and am used to succeeding, I can’t dump the burden of distrust and intimacy I’m carrying.
But when I literally crash into the cocky captain of the hockey team, sparks fly, and the attraction is as undeniable as it is unwanted.
No way is this arrogant hottie the one to help me move past my fears. Or is he…?
Dak…
Overwhelmed with guilt and remorse, I can’t forget the tragic accident that killed my first love. To avoid ever feeling that kind of agonizing loss again, I vow to stick with one-night stands with every puck bunny who glides my way and focus on keeping my position on the hockey team.
But after I meet a feisty figure skater and am then thrown together with her as a lab partner, I find I want to melt the icy walls we’ve built around our hearts.
If we don’t strangle each other first.
EXCERPT:
Tracey
My next trip into unrequited love land occurred with the esoteric art student. He had long flowing hair and haunting amber gold eyes which seemed to hold the secrets of life and made my limbs quiver. Things went pretty much the same with art boy as they did with rock god. Another beautiful friend who was unable to quench my robust desires. I introduced my music friend to my art friend and hearts and flowers bloomed all around—for them. I was happy for them. Really. Sort of. Okay, I was pissed. But I eventually got over it, and didn’t panic.
Having seen that look before, the first time rock god gazed at me, I’m not surprised or bothered by the way I’m imagining the jackass swallowing me with his eyes right now. I know it means nothing. What does bother me is his panty melting body in full view, which I, on the other hand, am more than attracted to. My legs are starting to feel rubbery underneath me. Bambi might be the right name for me after all.
“Maybe you need glasses, Bambi.” The jackass smirks. “You can’t see the big things right in front of you.”
“My eyes are fine. For instance, I don’t see anything big in front of me at the moment.” I glance down at the Thor-size hammer between his legs.
What? I’m certainly not going to tell him he’s been blessed by the gods.
He finally decides to wrap his towel around his miraculous…waist. Doesn’t help though. I’m still aware of the perfect V of his oblique muscles pointing the way to wonderland.
“Never had any complaints before.” He grins. “And I was referring to the big black letters on the door of the locker room.”
“I came in to change my clothes.” I flip my hair back in a perfect ‘f… off’ maneuver.
“I can see that, Bambi.” He arches a brow while taking one more long survey up and down my body. “But this,” he points one finger from side to side, “is the boys’ locker room, and unless you want to start a riot, I suggest you get out of here before the hockey team gets off the ice.”

Author Bio:
As a lover of the northeast US, my husband and I moved to the Poconos several years ago to open a Chiropractic Clinic. Four children and a menagerie of animals later, I have finally found time to fulfill my lifelong dream of writing novels. A dreamer at heart, romance is---of course---the genre I spend most of my time writing and reading into the wee hours of the morning. However, if it's a good book, any genre can keep me immersed in the story for hours.
When I’m not juggling work responsibilities and writing, I enjoy baking, knitting, traveling, hiking the beautiful hills and woods around my home and spending time with my family.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:30 AM No comments

Friday, January 19, 2018


Title: Stillhouse Lake
Series: Stillhouse Lake #1
Author: Rachel Caine
Rating: 

Gina Royal is the definition of average—a shy Midwestern housewife with a happy marriage and two adorable children. But when a car accident reveals her husband’s secret life as a serial killer, she must remake herself as Gwen Proctor—the ultimate warrior mom.

With her ex now in prison, Gwen has finally found refuge in a new home on remote Stillhouse Lake. Though still the target of stalkers and Internet trolls who think she had something to do with her husband’s crimes, Gwen dares to think her kids can finally grow up in peace.

But just when she’s starting to feel at ease in her new identity, a body turns up in the lake—and threatening letters start arriving from an all-too-familiar address. Gwen Proctor must keep friends close and enemies at bay to avoid being exposed—or watch her kids fall victim to a killer who takes pleasure in tormenting her. One thing is certain: she’s learned how to fight evil. And she’ll never stop.

    

This story begins when Gina/Gwen finds out that her husband is a serial killer, and she has to do what she can to protect herself and her children. However, as they try to hide and run away from all of the threats, she never realizes who is truly out to get her and who isn't. 

This is a dark and twisting tale of a woman doing her best to protect her children. And it leads us on a very crazy journey that ends with sort of a cliffhanger as well. 

I have to say I've read other books by this author, but I've never really read anything like this by any author. When I read the blurb I knew it was something that I to try, and I wasn't disappointed at all. 

This author wove a very compelling and suspenseful read. It was almost like I was the "mom" in the story that was well written it was. I was going through everything that the character went through, and it was crazy. This is a great start to this series, and I'm super excited to read more! 
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 7:29 AM 2 comments


On the Edge 
Dani Collins
(Blue Spruce Lodge, #1)
Published by: Tule Publishing
Publication date: January 16th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

When Glory Cormer’s father introduces her to ‘their’ new business partner, she’s appalled. Viking-like Rolf Johansson exudes the same alpha-intimidation that jocks used to torment her through high school. After nursing her mother the last several years, she’s trying to break out of her shell and secretly pursue a writing career, but Rolf insists she go through with the rotten deal her father struck with his brother to renovate an old chalet.
Rolf envisions this mountain as a world-class resort for elite athletes and other jet setters. As a downhill champion and owner of a world-renowned sports equipment empire, he knows what it takes to get what he wants. Nothing will stop him, especially not a hotheaded wallflower who turns the ice in his veins to lava.
Bonus Story! This book contains Glory’s novella Blessed Winter, a no-room-at-the-inn Christmas romance.
EXCERPT:
“I’m saying I don’t know how to deal with it. I’m not a sensitive man. I don’t want to hurt you again.” His fingers crept all the way around her upper arm, thumb stroking her skin as he gently clasped her in his warm grip.
“So don’t,” she suggested with a flash of irritation.
“Okay.” How did he make one word sound so dangerous? Like a dare. “You tell me what hurts more. Resisting or giving in?”
And now she was falling into an eclipse, staring into eyes that were golden and black at the same time, pulling her right out of herself and twisting her around so her body was in a sensual agony, tied up and yearning.
“Should we see?” he murmured, hands touching her with light sorcery, caressing her arm, caressing her throat, tilting up her chin.
She shouldn’t be this stupid, but she did hurt. All the time. With want…
His head lowered, slanted. His mouth hovered so she could feel the magnetic buzz of ions bouncing between their lips. When he nudged, made that first contact, her mouth stung, so hot and sensitized with anticipation she gasped.
He settled his lips over hers, hot and thorough. Confident. He kissed her in a way she had never been kissed before. This man held himself back with monumental discipline, she realized, because when he went for something, he went for it, and he was a force to be reckoned with. He claimed her with irresistible precision, mouth pressing hers open so the connection went from sweet suggestion to overwhelming passion in a single heartbeat.

She opened her mouth and let him in. Kissed him back with more offering than skill, not even hesitating. Compelled. If he was screwing with her—
Whatever she had consciously been thinking sizzled into nothing. She forgot how to form thoughts. All she knew was the feel of his lips against hers, smooth and firm, pulling just enough to make her follow him, then pressing to keep her sealed inside their world.

His hand slid through her hair to cup the back of her skull. His other arm went around her, broad hand slipping beneath her loose shirt to sit against the skin of her lower back, leaving a starfish of heat imprinted there. A shudder went through her, all of her muscles checking out and giving her body over to his strength. All she could do was lift her arms and cling around his neck, plastering herself to him while they devoured each other. Tongues came into play. His. Hers. She moaned, loving the swirling textures. Reveling in their blatant consumption of each other.
He was hard. She felt him against her abdomen and pulses of reaction hit her loins, making her want to grind against him. She wanted to do it already. Now.
As she realized how caught up she was, she yanked back, gasping.
He let her put some space between them, but kept his arm around her. His cheekbones were flushed above his beard, his eyes like liquid gold.
She hadn’t minded that beard, she realized, and wanted to stroke it with her fingers. She touched instead where the soft hairs had scraped against her chin, wondering how that rough-soft abrasion would feel against her stomach. Her thighs.
Her body reacted with a rush of heat and another pulse. She was very aware of the bed right there, while his eyes were halos of light around pupils the size of the moon.
“And that,” he said, accent thick. “Is why it is my business who spends time in this room.”


Author Bio:
Award-winning, USA Today Bestselling author Dani Collins thrives on giving readers emotional, compelling, heart-soaring romance with laughter and heat thrown in, just like real life. Mostly she writes contemporary romance for Harlequin Presents and Tule’s Montana Born, but her backlist of forty books also includes self-published erotic romance, romantic comedy, and even an epic medieval fantasy. When she’s not writing—just kidding, she’s always writing. She lives in Christina Lake, BC, Canada with her husband of thirty years who occasionally coaxes her out of her attic office to visit their grown children.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Thursday, January 18, 2018



The Shadow Weave 
Annette Marie
(Spell Weaver #2)
Publication date: January 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy

Clio might be a nymph living in exile among humans. And she might possess the rare ability to mimic any magic she sees. And she might have just seriously ticked off the most powerful family of spell weavers in the Underworld.
But she is not in love with an incubus.
Lyre is the rebellious black sheep of said weaver family, and he’s the only reason she survived her recent Underworld “vacation.” He’s also the sexiest thing she’s ever seen. Together, they have to track down a catastrophically dangerous magic—a magic he created, she sort of stole, and they both lost—before his family gets their hands on it. And that means fighting alongside him in a desperate attempt to avert complete disaster.
But she is definitely not in love with him. At least, she’s pretty sure she’s not.
Mostly sure. Maybe sure? …Crap.
EXCERPT:
As though summoned by her thoughts, the sex fiend himself breezed into the room. Hair damp and tousled, the kind of face that made women’s hearts skip, broad shoulders that tapered to a toned torso. His tattered clothes should have ruined the look, but they added an extra edge—dangerous and exotic.
The others in the kitchen noticed his arrival, but they dismissed him just as quickly. Unlike most daemons, incubi were easy to recognize even in glamour. No other caste possessed that stunning combination of golds—white-gold hair, warm golden skin, vibrant irises like a dark patina over rich yellow gold.
Yes, they recognized him as an incubus—and they didn’t bother to hide their curling lips and wrinkling noses. Lyre either didn’t notice or didn’t care as he swept over to her, his expression brightening for the first time in two days.
“Clio,” he purred, voice too low for even keen-eared strangers to hear, “your powers of seduction would put any succubus to shame.”
She blinked at him, the bowl of whisked eggs in her hands and a hot pan sizzling in front of her. His mood was so different from earlier that she couldn’t quite grasp it.
“Huh?” she managed. How articulate.
“This is entirely unfair. I have no power to resist such tactics.” He waited a beat. “Are you planning to do something with those eggs?”
She blinked again, trying to unscramble her brain. Scramble. Right, the eggs. She dumped the mixture into the hot pan. “What are you going on about, Lyre?”
“Bacon,” he sighed dreamily. “Pancakes. Scrambled eggs. You slay me, my love.”
On the words “my love,” her heart screeched to a stop so fast it might have left skid marks on her ribs. It kicked back into gear at three times its previous speed and she concentrated so hard on the spatula that she almost went cross-eyed. “You—you can’t be that excited about my cooking. You don’t even know if it’s any good.”
“I can tell already. It’ll be delicious.”
She shivered. The way he said that word should be illegal. As she hurriedly stirred the eggs with a spatula, he stood so close he was almost touching her, his body angled toward her as though she held his entire attention. But his gaze, sliding coolly from one watching daemon to another, was distinctly unfriendly.
She scraped the eggs off the pan, then rescued the bacon from the oven—triggering a stir among the waiting daemons. With her bottom lip caught between her teeth, she pulled a plate from the cupboard, loaded it with food, and held it out to Lyre. She’d cooked an elaborate late-night breakfast to cheer him up, but now second thoughts were crowding her brain. Too late to change her plan now.
His smile only fueled her blush as he fished a fork out of a nearby drawer, loaded it with eggs, and scooped them into his mouth. She held her breath. The entire room went silent.
His eyes rolled back in ecstasy. “So good,” he moaned.
Bang.
She jerked around. The female daemon had dropped her heavy book on the floor. As everyone looked over at her, pink tinged the woman’s cheeks. She snatched up her book and beat a hasty retreat out of the room.
Clio swallowed hard, envious of the woman’s ability to flee. Lyre’s moan had been so sensual it had been downright scandalous, and if Clio didn’t put space between them soon, she was going to start swooning like a complete fool.


Author Bio:
Annette Marie is the author of the Amazon best-selling Steel & Stone series, which includes Goodreads Choice Award nominee Yield the Night, and fantasy trilogy Red Winter. Her first love is fantasy, but fast-paced adventures and tantalizing forbidden romances are her guilty pleasures. She lives in the frozen winter wasteland of Alberta, Canada (okay, it's not quite that bad) with her comparatively sensible husband and their furry minion of darkness—sorry, cat— Caesar. When not writing, she can be found elbow-deep in one art project or another while blissfully ignoring all adult responsibilities.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Wednesday, January 17, 2018



Right Side 
Leigh Taylor
(Worth The Wait, #2)
Publication date: January 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance

Beatrice Remington has one great love in life. Fashion.
When Bea followed her twin brother, Henry, and his ranching dream to Oaks, Texas after graduating from fashion school; running the local boot shop seemed like a dream come true. Bea has everything she wants in life with her thriving business and a budding collection of couture formal wear designs until she watches her brother fall in love. Bea realizes the missing piece to her happiness is the love of her best friend and secret crush, Al Bosco. After years of dancing around one another, Bea sets up a date with the town vet to make Al jealous enough to claim her. However, Bea’s plan backfires and leaves her alone in Oaks with nothing but one fake boyfriend, one broken heart and one wedding dress to design.

Al Bosco has one great love in life.
Beatrice Remington.

Al has spent his entire life as the third wheel to the Remington twins. Somewhere along the line, as Henry became his brother, Beatrice became the love of his life. Only he’s never had the courage to admit it out loud. When Al shunned the family business to become a ranch hand at The Waitin’ Ranch, he set off a chain reaction that ensured he couldn’t risk bringing Bea’s heart into the chaos. As he finally breaks down and returns to his hometown to make things right so he can give Bea everything she deserves; she walks in holding hands with the town vet and looking happier than ever. Al may have a bruised ego but he’s on a mission to win Beatrice’s love once and for all. When he finally returns to Oaks, will his girl still have a heart to give to him or will Al be left with nothing but regret?
Can Beatrice and Al get on the right side before their love story becomes another scrap on the cutting room floor?
EXCERPT:
I juggle my coffee as I slide the key into my studio door’s lock and push it open. Before I can get the lights on, the smell of fresh lilac hits me.
In the faint sunlight from the small windows, I see a floral arrangement on one of my work tables.
I flip on the lights and smile as I see the beautiful display in its glory.
The lilac sprigs are white and accent lush lipstick pink roses and baby pink peonies. It’s all my favorite flowers in my favorite colors.
I wonder if they’re a gift from Leslie so I cross the room quickly.
As I set my mug and my sketchpad down, I frown when I see the handwritten note by the flowers.
Not Leslie.
I finger the sheet of legal paper with lines of prose written in Sharpie.

Doubt the stars are fire;
Doubt that the sun doth move;
Doubt truth to be a liar;
But never doubt I love.
-Shakespeare



Author Bio:
Leigh Taylor is a native Texan who now calls the Windy City home. Leigh loves all things romance related including novels and classic movies. Her love of reading and Texas inspired her to begin writing and share her characters with readers everywhere. When she isn’t working or writing about cowboys, Leigh enjoys spending time exploring her city, playing with her pets and relaxing with friends over a cup of tea or whiskey.

XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM No comments

Tuesday, January 16, 2018



Visionary X Starlight
Yumoyori Wilson
(Earthala Series, #1)
Publication date: January 12th 2018 
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Badass Princess meets Rookie Criminal Investigator…
Two different worlds – one unique connection – a whole lot of madness.
After being held prisoner most of her life, Makoto Heart is now free and currently staying in Realm Five, Minato. So, when her five knights surprise her with a trip to Realm Six, Earthala, she’s beyond excited to see what the hype is all about. Having no interactions with humans, she prays to the Starlight gods that everything goes smoothly – especially with a certain orange haired female and her group of criminal investigators.
Scarlet Sinclair has only had one real friend her entire adult life – which is one more than she had as a child – because no one wants to be friends with the crazy girl who fainted all the time and wore gloves year-round. When she finds out Junho’s friend Marcus is returning to Earthala and bringing with him his friends and one very special blue-eyed brunette, she’s intrigued.
None of them could have ever expected the car chases, mall fights, or sleepwalking adventures that would follow. Makoto and Scarlett are in for an eventful five days as their worlds clash on Earthala soil.
Visionary X Starlight is a FULL-LENGTH mashup of two series and the events that happen in between. Dark Wish – Book One in the Starlight Gods Series AND Visionary Investigator – Book One in Paranormal INC Series must be read to enjoy this series.
Recommended for 18+ audience, containing mature sexual content, violence and strong language.
NOTE: Visionary X Starlight is written in CANADIAN ENGLISH – meaning both American and British English is used.
EXCERPT:
“We’re…in public.”
“We’re in a private section, Firefly.” He countered, lifting up to stare into my eyes. I lowered my eyes to his lips, licking my own. He lowered his head, reading to kiss me again when he flinched.
“Mother fucker.” He swore under his breath, turning his head. I gave him a confused look, following his gaze to see Elias chilling on the dock, his legs swinging back forth with a wide grin on his face.
“Hey, Mako. You forgot your sunscreen at home. I thought I’d come and bring it to you,” Elias called out, his grin only growing wider. He waved the unfamiliar tube in his hand.
“Sun…screen?” I blinked, my cheeks feeling hot.
He totally did that on purpose,” Lexi mumbled, sounding utterly disappointed.
Marcus groaned, his eyes glowing a bright blue.
I watched the waves near the doc sway back and forth until one large wave formed and crashed into Elias. I tried to hold the set of laughter that threatened to leave my throat, my shoulders beginning to shake as I watched Elias blink, spewing out a stream of water.
I lost it, laughing my head off at his drenched appearance, his gold locks stuck to his face.
“Marcus! Why did you…hehehehe…do that?” I asked, trying to calm the laughter assaulting me.
“Serves him right. Always interrupting me and shit.” He mumbled.
“I’m not cooking for you tonight,” Elias threatened.


Author Bio:
Yumoyori Wilson is from Toronto, Ontario. She loves to sleep and write her days away. She works at night as a registered nurse. She has a little addiction to bubble tea and coffee but loves to workout. She has big plans for the writing world and can't wait to share them with everyone.




XBTBanner1
Read More
by ShootingStars Reviews 3:00 AM 1 comment

Bookmark Us

Search Our Site

Blog Archive

Proud Tour Host!

♥Blog Awards♥

2016 NetGalley Challenge
100 Book Reviews
80%